Anne Waiguru Becomes The First Female To Be Elected Council Of Governors Chairperson

Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru who retained her seat for the second term was elected the Council of Governors (CoG) chairperson over Azimio La Umoja affliated Kajiado governor Joseph Ole Lenku.

“I am honored and grateful to my colleagues for allowing me to serve Kenya Governors as the Chairperson. Together we will make this leg of devolution an astounding and transformative success for Kenyans. Thank you.” She wrote.

Waiguru was elected alongside Wajir’s Ahmed Abdullahi and Nandi’s Stephen Sang who now becomes the Council of Governors Deputy-Chairperson and CoG Whip respectively. The election took place on Saturday, September 17 in Mombasa County during the county governors induction workshop.

She becomes the first female governor to hold the seat after former male governors who have been running the office since the advent of devolution and under President Kenyatta’s two-term reign. They include; Martin Wambora of Embu County (2021-2022), Kakamega’s Wycliffe Oparanya (2019-2021) Turkana’s Josphat Nanok (2017-2019)Meru’s Peter Munya (2015-2017) and Bomet’s Isaac Ruto (2013-2015).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *