FIFA Series inter-confederation friendlies pilot project to commence in March 2024

Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) is set to facilitate inter-confederation international friendly matches comprising four national teams from different confederations in a single host country.

The FIFA Series will see world football’s governing body support its member associations in organizing international friendly matches.

Read Also: Chad Pollock appointed as Visa Vice President for East Africa

The initiative will provide member associations with a more regular opportunity to face national teams from other continents, which will serve to unlock technical development opportunities previously unavailable to many of them.

The FIFA Series will be happening during the March match window of even years; Algeria, Azerbaijan, Saudi Arabia, and Sri Lanka will host and organize project matches during the upcoming Men’s International Match Calendar window in March 2024.

The FIFA Series will also provide the participating member associations with additional commercial opportunities and exposure.

Ahead of the full roll-out in March 2026, the pilot project will run from 18 to 26 March 2024. The forthcoming edition of the FIFA Series will feature national teams from all six confederations, and future installments are planned during every March international match window of even years.

“The FIFA Series is a really positive step forward for national-team football at the global level,” said FIFA President Gianni Infantino. “Our member associations have been telling us for a long time now of their desire to test themselves against their counterparts from all around the world. Now, they can do so within the current Men’s International Match Calendar. More meaningful matches will enable far more valuable footballing interaction for players, teams, and fans, and will make a concrete contribution to the development of the game.”

The FIFA Series pilot phase in March 2024 will feature the following teams:

FIFA Series: Algeria
Algeria (CAF)
Andorra (UEFA)
Bolivia (CONMEBOL)
South Africa (CAF)

FIFA Series: Azerbaijan
Azerbaijan (UEFA)
Bulgaria (UEFA)
Mongolia (AFC)
Tanzania (CAF)

FIFA Series: Saudi Arabia A
Cabo Verde (CAF)
Cambodia (AFC)
Equatorial Guinea(CAF)
Guyana (Concacaf)

FIFA Series: Saudi Arabia B
Bermuda (Concacaf)
Brunei Darussalam (AFC)
Guinea (CAF)
Vanuatu (OFC)

FIFA Series: Sri Lanka
Bhutan (AFC)
Central African Republic (CAF)
Papua New Guinea (OFC)
Sri Lanka (AFC)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *