South Korea Commits To Support Kenya’s Development Agenda

South Korean government will support Kenya’s development programs by committing Sh120 billion (US 1 billion dollars) to various projects.

The funds will be used in Agriculture, ICT, Health, Energy, Infrastructure, Education, affordable housing and urban transport.

President WilliamsRuto and his South Korean counterpart Yoon Suk Yeol witnessed the signing of the agreement at Yongsan Presidential Office, Seoul, South Korea.

President Ruto said the agreement will stimulate economic development through manufacturing, agro-processing and value addition. The deal includes the development of special economic zones (SEZs) in Dongo Kundu, Lamu, Naivasha, Athi River, and Sagana and the construction of dams.

Kenya will also work with South Korea to develop manufacturing plants in the Konza Technopolis, an export promotion zone dedicated to pharmaceutical manufacturing, vaccine production and value addition in agriculture.

“We are committed to implementing strategies to increase farm productivity and seek your Government’s support for agricultural mechanization as well as cooperation in research and technological innovation,” he added.

The two Heads of States also agreed to partner in green energy, security and the development of the Nairobi Intelligent Transport System and Bus Rapid Transit network to decongest the city.

President Yeol also noted that the government of South Korea will help Kenya to manage effects of drought that has been ravaging most parts of the country.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *