CRA Commissioners To Be Sworn In On Monday By CJ Koome

The Commission on Revenue Allocation’s commissioners will take their oaths of office on Monday.

Chief Justice Martha Koome will preside over the gathering, which will take place in Supreme Court facilities. On December 5, 2022, the seven nominees underwent a screening. Among those nominated were former Wajir Woman Representative Fatuma Gedi and ODM leader Raila Odinga’s relative George Midiwo.

The nominees were chosen from a group of 139 applicants who expressed interest in joining the organization entrusted with formulating recommendations for an equitable division of national tax income between the federal government and the county governments.

From the Majority side, Benedict Muasya Mutiso, Jonas Vincent Kuko, Isabel Nyambura Waiyaki, and Hadija Nganyi Juma received nominations. The Minority wing also proposed Wilfred Koitamet Olekina Nchoshoi for the role in addition to Gedi and Midiwo.

The nominees were required to present clearances from the Directorate of Criminal Investigations, the Office of Registrar of Political Parties, the Kenya Revenue Authority, the Higher Education Loans Board, the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, and the Kenya Revenue Authority. According to Article 215 of the Constitution, CRA is an independent agency.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *