MCAs Expected To Elect Speakers Of The Third County Assembly

Nominated and elected Members of County Assembly (MCAs) are expected to receive oath of office tomorrow on Wednesday while in some counties they affirmed today to begin with the election of Speaker of County Assembly.

According to the constitution and pursuant to the election of the Speaker of each County Assembly, elected MCAs will elect a person who is not a member of the assembly on the first sitting after general elections and after administration of oath to members. While County Assembly Deputy Speaker who should be an elected MCA will be nominated by the assembly.

Interested persons for the posts (Speaker) in different counties have submitted nomination papers among them are; In Nyeri County there are 3 including former Teto Member of Parliament, James Gichoe, in Kirinyaga County Muteti Muremi, Njeruand Joel whereas in Meru-5, Busia-7 and Kiambu 9 contestants have vied.

Kisumu County awaits the process after affirmation of office to members today except four MCAs who were denied to take oath of office. This members who were elected under Orange Democratic Movement ticket were accused of an attempt to sabotage a meeting called by Raila Odinga on Monday which held talks on election of Speakers.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *