Cabinet of South Africa Authorizes New-looking Coins

The new coin design in South Africa has been authorized by the cabinet and will have inscriptions in each of the country’s official languages.

Over the following ten years, the official languages will alternate yearly.

The last time South Africa changed the design of its coins was in 1989, therefore this will be the fourth time.

The cabinet detailed the new design’s appearance for each denomination in a statement.

“On one side of the coins, the word “South Africa” will be printed in all of the official tongues. The R5 currency will be in three languages, the R2 coin in two languages, and the 50c, 20c, and 10c coins will all be in one language “Part of the cabinet statement was read.

There is currently no prototype design for the new coins, which will go into circulation the following year.

There are 11 official languages in South Africa: English, Sesotho, Xitsonga, Siswati, Tshivenda, isiXhosa, Zulu, and Afrikaans.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *